Committee of Management

Cathie King

Chair, Committee of Management and Deputy Chair, Board of Directors

Cathie is a professional Company Director and has served on the Boards of commercial, not for profit and Government businesses.  She is currently Deputy Chair of EML and a Director of Hospitality Industry Insurance. She was previously Deputy Chair of the Adelaide Fringe, a Director of Common Ground Adelaide, Adelaide Venue Management Corporation, Safecom and Homestart Finance. Cathie served as a member of the Riverland Wine Advisory Panel and was Chair of Eastside Skillshare. Cathie has worked as a jillaroo, publican, Chief of Staff to two Ministers, Adviser to two Premiers and was the National Organiser of the Australian Labor Party. She has owned and managed public relations, communications and strategic advisory businesses since 2004. She is a member of The Republican Movement, the Norwood Football Club and an Honorary Life Member of the Royal Agricultural and Horticultural Society.

Dr Nathan Manning

Member, Committee of Management

Nathan is a Senior Lecturer in the Department of Sociology, Criminology and Gender Studies at the University of Adelaide. He is a political sociologist with a focus on young citizens, political dissatisfaction and disengagement and the role of emotions in politics and citizenship. His current work explores the emotional dimensions of dutiful forms of citizenship. His most recent research project was undertaken while working at the University of York, and was based in the North east of the UK (Hartlepool). The project used participatory research methods and involved young people working with artists, academics and the local council to help shape local policy around issues of mental health. View a short video of the project.

Gerrie Mitra

Member, Committee of Management

Gerrie is currently General Manager Provider and Markets Division at National Disability Insurance Agency. She was previously Group Executive Director, Disability and Reform, for the Department of Human Services, overseeing all elements of the disability reform process for South Australia. Prior to this Gerrie was Executive Director of Disability SA with a responsibility for delivery and transition of all non-accommodation services provided by government. Gerrie was previously a Director in Housing SA, and has also had a long career as an executive manager in a variety of roles with NGOs in Victoria and South Australia. Gerrie is a qualified CPA and holds a Master’s in Business Administration. She is passionate about social justice and is known for her innovative and pragmatic approach to transforming services.

Professor Ian Goodwin-Smith

Member, Committee of Management

Professor Goodwin-Smith is the Matthew Flinders Professor of Social Impact and Director at the Centre for Social Impact at Flinders University. He is a researcher in the fields of social policy and social service with extensive experience in research and evaluation relating to social service improvement, systems reform and social policy. He is a research leader experienced in managing research centres and concentrations in collaboration and partnership with industry and community stakeholders. Ian has a history of working collaboratively with government and non-government organisations, communities and people who have been marginalised, and a long track record of research partnerships, both internationally and in all Australian states and territories, in metropolitan, country and remote settings. He has experience in co-designing and administering large scale research and evaluation projects, and in working across sectors and disciplines with a range of stakeholder groups.

Associate Professor Megan Moskos

Member, Committee of Management

Associate Professor Megan Moskos is Co-Director at the Future of Employment and Skills research centre (FES) and also Associate Dean Research Engagement for the Faculty of Arts, Business, Law and Economics at the University of Adelaide. Prior to this, Megan was employed for 15 years at the National Institute of Labour Studies (NILS), Flinders University. Megan specialises in undertaking research with disadvantaged groups and those living in rural and remote areas (including Aboriginal and CALD communities). Her research pursues, promotes and supports interdisciplinary and cross-cultural collaborative research to improve outcomes through innovative responses to complex social problems. She has extensive experience in working across government, business and community sectors to conduct research and evaluations to inform future policy and practice and generate positive social change. Megan’s research is widely judged not only as a contribution to academic knowledge but also as a contribution to the economy and society. Some of real world impacts of her recent research include the Evaluation of the NDIS roll out and the evaluation of the Cashless Debit Card.

Dr Sanjugta Vas Dev

Member, Committee of Management

Dr Sanjugta Vas Dev is an experienced public sector leader committed to advancing equality in South Australia and around the world. She has held various State Government roles spanning disability, public housing, education and child protection. In her current role as Director of the Office for Women in the Department of Human Services, she oversees policy, projects and services designed to promote gender equality in all forms, including eliminating violence against women and girls. Sanjugta’s work is rooted in evidence-based policy and research. She completed her PhD in political science and worked as a researcher and consultant across the three South Australian universities, focusing on gender and youth in international development. Her passion for effecting change has taken her around the globe, working as an international consultant in Samoa, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, India, Indonesia and Cambodia. She has also contributed to gender and development equality through her work as a trainer in the Gender Consortium.

Dr Sharyn Roach Anleu

Member, Committee of Management

Dr Sharyn Roach Anleu is a Matthew Flinders Distinguished Professor of Sociology in the College of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences at Flinders University, Adelaide and Fellow of the Australian Academy of the Social Sciences.  She completed her undergraduate studies at the University of Tasmania, a law (hons) degree at the Unversity of Adelaide and her PhD at the University of Connecticut (USA).  Sharyn is a past president of The Australian Sociological Association and the author of Law and Social Change and four editions of Deviance, Conformity and Control.  She has contributed to the Masters Program at the International Institute for the Sociology of Law, Oñati, Spain.  With Emerita Professor Kathy Mack, Flinders University, she leads the Judicial Research Project which undertakes socio-legal research into the Australian judiciary and its courts. Their latest book is Performing Judicial Authority in the Lower Courts (2017, Palgrave), and in 2018 Sharyn and Jessica Milner Davis co-edited Judges, Judging and Humour (Palgrave).